How to Get Married in Oregon

I may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post. This helps me support my blog and my family at no extra cost to you.

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Oregon!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Oregon!

How to Get Married in Oregon

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: A marriage license may be used anywhere in the State of Oregon. Marriage license applications can be completed online at www.multcomarriage.org or at the appropriate county office. There is a three day waiting period and no medical exam or blood tests are required.

Whether completed online or in an office, both bride and groom must appear together office to sign the license at the time it is issued. Both parties must have valid picture I.D. in the name that is entered on the marriage license application. The marriage license application requires both the bride and groom to establish the legal name each will take after the marriage ceremony and is limited to combinations allowed by state law. This information is mandatory and must be determined prior to the completion of your application.

Under 18: In Oregon, the law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Applicants who are 17 years old must obtain the written consent of their parent or guardian. If either applicant has no parent or guardian residing within the State of Oregon, an Affidavit stating these facts must be obtained from a third party.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: Currently, Oregon charges $60 (in cash or certified funds only) for a marriage license.

Officiants: The person performing the marriage ceremony must be a religious leader who is authorized by a religious congregation/organization, a County Clerk, an Oregon judge, or an active federal/military judge.

Valid: In Oregon, a marriage license remains in effect for 60 days.

Equality Rights: Same sex marriage is legal in Oregon.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

How many of you are getting married in Oregon?