How to Get Married in Tennessee

I may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post. This helps me support my blog and my family at no extra cost to you.

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Tennessee!

So, you've planned a lovely wedding, stayed within your budget, and and now you're ready for the actual getting married part of the process. But how? Don't worry, Tulle Nation, I've got you taken care of. Each week this year, I'll be sharing all the information you need to know to get married in one state in the United States. Today, Tennessee!

How to Get Married in Tennessee

Application, ID, and Residency Requirement: Both parties must appear together and must provide proof of birth (government issued photo identification or certified birth certificate) and of a Social Security number (for individuals that have been issued one). There is no waiting period.A blood test is not required and applicants need not be residents.If you have been divorced or widowed, you must know the exact date that event became final.

The marriage license is good for ceremonies performed anywhere in Tennessee. Couples may complete the downloadable form, fill one out at the County Clerk’s Office, or may apply online here and clicking on Marriage Application.

Under 18: In Tennessee, if either party is under the age of 18, they must be accompanied by their parents. Tennessee law does not permit those under the age of 16 to marry without a court order.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?: In Tennessee, the fee for a marriage license is $99.50. However, license applicants who have completed a premarital preparation course within a year prior to the date of application for the license are exempted from paying $60.00 of this fee. The couple must provide a Certificate of Completion form (download and print Certificate of Completion) that has been completed and signed by the course provider (course provider’s signature on the Certificate of Completion must be notarized).

All non-Tennessee residents getting married in a tourism zone will pay $38.50. *If of the couple has a Tennessee Drivers License you will be charged $98.50.

Officiants: The rite of matrimony may be solemnized by any of the following persons:

  1. All regular ministers, preachers, pastors, priests, rabbis, and other religious leaders of every religious belief, more than 18 years of age, having the care of souls.
  2. Current and former members of county legislative bodies.
  3. County mayors/executives and former county mayors/executives.
  4. Current and former judges and chancellors of this state.
  5. Current and former judges of general sessions courts.
  6. The governor.
  7. The county clerk of each county.
  8. Current and former speakers of the senate and speakers of the house of representatives.
  9. Mayors of municipalities.

Valid: In Tennessee, the marriage license is valid for thirty days from issuance.

Equality Rights: Same sex marriage is legal in Tennessee.

Name Change: Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed.

It is very important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

How many of you are getting married in Tennessee?